The 420 festivities are expected to draw thousands of people to downtown Denver Saturday to celebrate all property marijuana. Before you pass that joint, here are a few property to keep in mind.
1. It is illegal to smoke marijuana in public. This includes Civic Center where T.I. will headline the big 420 festival. piece you’ll see about everyone smoking at the festival, the Denver Police Department does arrest people for violations. You can have weed in your car but it inevitably to be in sealed containers. And it is illegal to drive piece stoned.
2. The penalty for being cited or in remission for a marijuana law violation varies. It could be a fine or it could mean jail time. It just depends on the severity of the accusation and whether you might have broken a city or state law.
3. If you’re visit from out of town, find out your building or Airbnb rules. Some buildings may have smoking suite where it is allowed. It not allowed on balconies or in common areas.
- A Colorado marijuana guide: 64 answers to usually asked questions
- 4-day trial ends in $50 fine for International Church of Cannabis founder condemned of public pot smoking
- Why it’s so hard to define where you can lawfully smoke pot in Colorado
- It’s 420 in Denver, and marijuana is legal
4. Denver has issued licenses two social-use venues where people who are 21 and older can go to smoke. They are Vape & Play, 1753 South Broadway, and The Coffee Joint, 1130 Yuma Court.
5. Finally, if you don’t use all the flower, wax or edibles you bought, leave it in town with a friend. You’re not allowed to take it crosswise state lines.